IHE Innovation Forum VIII - Value for Money

Value for Money: Key People

Speaker Biographies

Keynote Speaker

Mr. Don Drummond
Former Senior Vice President and Chief Economist, TD Bank Financial Group

Don Drummond profile pictureDon Drummond is the former Senior Vice President and Chief Economist at TD Financial Group. He retired from TD to his current role as Matthews Fellow and Distinguished Visiting Scholar in the School of Policy Studies at Queens University. Prior to joining TD Bank, Mr. Drummond had a long career in the Department of Finance, serving most recently as Associate Deputy Minister. He was responsible for economic analysis, fiscal policy, tax policy, social policy and federal-provincial relations, and he coordinated the planning of the annual federal budgets. Born and raised in Victoria, BC, Mr. Drummond graduated from the University of Victoria and received his MA in Economics from Queen's University. In 2011 he was appointed as the Chair of the Commission on the Reform of Ontario Public Services. The Commission released its final report in February 2012, with a wide range of recommendations to ensure the sustainability of health care and other public services. Mr. Drummond travels widely across Canada and abroad, speaking about the Canadian economy and its prospects, and he is frequently quoted by the media on economic and policy issues.


Dr. Chris Eagle
President and CEO, Alberta Health Services

Chris Eagle profile pictureDr. Eagle is a Professor at both the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary, and holds an adjunct appointment at the University of Victoria. He has had a long career in health-care administration. He served as Executive VP and Chief Clinical Officer, VP and CIO of the former Calgary Health Region, as well as Associate Chief Medical Officer, Executive Director of the Foothills Hospital in Calgary, and Head of the Department of Anesthesia at the University of Calgary. Dr. Eagle has served as a board member for a number of health organizations. He was on the inaugural board of the Health Quality Council of Alberta and currently serves on the Board of the Canadian Institute for Health Information.

Honourable Fred Horne
Minister of Health, Government of Alberta

Fred Horne profile pictureThe Honourable Fred Horne is serving his second term as Member of the Legislative Assembly for Edmonton-Rutherford, and on May 8, 2012 he was appointed Minister of Health. He had previously served as Minister of Health and Wellness since October 2011. Previous appointments include serving as member of the Cabinet Policy Committee on Public Health & Safety, Treasury Board, Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister Health and Wellness, Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Seniors and Community Supports, Chair of the Standing Committee on Health, and Deputy Chair of the Premier's Council on the Status of Persons with Disabilities. Prior to his election to the Legislative Assembly, Mr. Horne worked as a health policy consultant for over 25 years. Mr. Horne holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Royal Roads University and post-graduate certification in Dispute Resolution from York University.

Dr. Deborah Marshall
Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Calgary; Canada Research Chair, Health Services and Systems Research; Director, Health Technology Assessment, Alberta Bone and Joint Health Institute

Deborah Marshall profile pictureDr. Deborah Marshall leads a health services research programme at the University of Calgary involving synthesis of evidence, measurement of preferences, cost-effectiveness analysis, and decision modelling of health systems. Dr. Marshall has extensive experience in health technology assessment agencies, academic institutions, and private industry in Canada, the US, and Europe. She is currently the President of the Board of Directors and an active member of the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research. Her key projects are funded through Alberta Innovates-Health Solutions, Canadian Institutes for Health Research, and the Canadian Arthritis Society, as well as the US National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research.

Ms. Anne McFarlane
Vice President, Western Canada and Development Initiatives, CIHI

Anne McFarlane profile pictureAnne McFarlane serves as Vice-President, Western Canada and Development Initiatives. Anne works extensively with the other regional offices and program areas within CIHI to improve our responsiveness to client needs and our ability to plan and promote uptake of new systems and programs. Previously, Anne held the position of Executive Director, Western Canada, for more than five years. During that time, she established the Western office-the organization's first regional bureau. Along with an MSc in community health and epidemiology, Ms. McFarlane has more than 20 years of experience in the health and social service sectors. She has held senior management roles with both the British Columbia Ministry of Health Services and the Health Services Utilization and Research Commission of Saskatchewan, and advisory roles with the Canadian Institutes of Health Research's Institute of Health Services and Policy Research and the Canadian Cochrane Centre.

Dr. Jon Meddings
Dean of Medicine, University of Calgary

Jon Meddings profile pictureDr. Jon Meddings has a long and accomplished record with the University of Calgary. He began his first term as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine in July 2012, having served as Vice Dean since 2009, and previously as Interim Vice-President (Research) of the University of Calgary (2010), head of the Division of Gastroenterology, and as a professor in the Department of Medicine, while continuing to be an active member of the medical community. He served as Chair of the Department of Medicine at the University of Alberta from 2004 to 2009.

Dr. Annette Trimbee
Deputy Minister, Alberta Treasury Board and Finance

Annette Trimbee profile pictureDr. Annette Trimbee oversees Alberta's Capital Plan, spending management and planning, tax policy and administration, analysis and forecasting of Alberta's economic and financial trends, internal auditing and accountability, and the regulation of insurance, pensions, financial institutions and Alberta's capital market. She is also leading the implementation of results-based budgeting, a new approach to government budgeting that emphasizes fiscal discipline and effective and efficient programs and services that address Albertans' priorities. She was previously Deputy Minister of Treasury Board and Enterprise, and Advanced Education and Technology. She received her BSc from University of Winnipeg, MSc from University of Manitoba, and PhD from McMaster University.

Dr. Lorne Tyrrell
Chair, Institute of Health Economics

Lorne Tyrrell profile pictureThe former Dean of Medicine and Dentistry at the University of Alberta, Dr. Tyrrell is the Board Chair of the Institute of Health Economics. He is the CIHR/GlaxoSmithKline Chair in Virology at the University of Alberta. He is also Chair of the Gairdner Foundation and a member of the Research Council of the Canadian Institute of Academic Research. Dr. Tyrrell is a member of the Alberta Order of Excellence, an Officer of the Order of Canada, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He received the F.N.G. Starr Award from the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) in 2004, and the Principal Award of the Manning Foundation in 2005 for his work on the development of oral antivirals for the treatment of HBV. He was inducted into the CMA Hall of Fame in 2011.